North Carolina – Home Inspection State Regulations
North Carolina Home Inspector License Board
Phone: (919) 647-0027
Fax: (919) 715-0067
Location: 325 N. Salisbury St.
Raleigh, NC 27603
Mailing Address: 1202 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1202
Quick North Carolina Facts:
- Home inspection is regulated
- License renewal cycle every year
- Distance education is allowed for the classroom portion of the 120 hour pre-licensing course. The 80 required field training hours must be gained in the field.
- CE distance education is allowed
- License type(s): Home inspector
- Field training and experience
- 12 CE hours required
- optional , depending upon experience or other licenses or certifications held
- 120 hours classroom / 80 hours field training
Exam: North Carolina Home Inspector License exam
In order to become a Home Inspector one must pass the NC home inspector license exam.
North Carolina Home Inspection Training: North Carolina Licensure (Chapter 143, Article 9F) enacted in 1993.The North Carolina “Home Inspection Licensure Act” provides for the licensing and regulation of home inspectors through the creation of a Home Inspector Licensure Board within the Department of Insurance. In order to become licensed as a home inspector, an individual must pass the licensing examination prescribed by the Board, have minimum net assets or a bond in an amount determined by the Board (not less than $5,000 nor more than $10,000) and meet certain educational conditions, including:
- have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- have education and experience the Board considers to be equivalent to that in subpart 1. Above; or
- be licensed as a general contractor, architect, or professional engineer.
Application and Licensing: North Carolina Home Inspector Licensure Board