West Virginia – Home Inspection State Regulations

Regulating Body:

Office of the State Fire Marshal

Phone: 304-558-2191 ex: 53219

Fax: 304-558-2537

Address: 1207 Quarrier St., (2nd Flr.), Charleston, WV 25301

Website: https://firemarshal.wv.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Quick West Virginia Facts:

  • Home inspection is regulated
  • Every Year License renewal cycle
  • Distance education is not allowed
  • CE distance education is allowed
  • License Type(s): Home Inspector

Required:

  • CE
    • 16 Hours
  • Pre-Licensing
    • 80 Hours

Not Required:

  • Field Training and Experience

Exam:  National Home Inspector Examination

West Virginia Home Inspection Training: West Virginia Certification (Title 87-05) enacted in 2006. West Virginia law, “Certification of Home Inspectors,” establishes procedures to be followed to assure that consumers of home inspection services can rely on the competence of inspectors, as determined by educational and experience requirements and testing. As an initial requirement and qualification for certification as a home inspector, every applicant:

  1. shall have passed the National Home Inspector Examination ;
  2. shall either present proof of having conducted business as an inspector for three years prior to August 1, 2006, or proof of satisfactory completion of at least 80 hours of instruction;
  3. must have successfully completed high school or its equivalent; and
  4. shall present proof of, and shall maintain, general liability insurance in the amount of not less than $250,000.00.

Application and Licensing: West Virginia State Fire Marshal