Oregon – Home Inspection State Regulations
Oregon Construction Contractors Board
Phone: (503) 378-4621
Fax: (503) 373-2007
Email: [email protected]
Address: 201 High St. SE, Salem, OR. 97301
P.O. Box 14140
Salem, OR 97309-5052
Quick Oregon Facts:
- Home inspection is regulated
- Biannual License renewal cycle
- Distance education is not allowed
- CE Distance education is allowed
- License type(s): Home Inspector
- 30 Continuing education units
- 20 hours of pre-licensing
- Field Training and Experience
Exam: National Home Inspector Examination
*Options for completing 20 education points for pre-licensing requirements:
- 1 point for each completed 3 hour minimum class with passing grade in construction, remodeling, engineering, architecture, building design, building technology or real estate at an accredited college or university.
- 2 points for each completed 12 months working or teaching at an accredited college or university, trade school, or private business for monetary compensation in construction, remodeling, engineering, architecture, building design, building technology or real estate.
- Accredited US college course-class must be a minimum of 3-credit or 3 CEU completed in home inspection (10 points for each 3-credit hour class)
- Approved Provider Course-(1 point for each 3 hour course))
- Ride Along-applicant will accompany an Oregon certified home inspector during an inspection (1 point for each completed ride along))
- Full time work for monetary compensation as a home inspector (4 points for each 12 months)
- Recommendation from an Oregon certified home inspector (1/2 point for each)
- Building codes certification issued by a government agency (1 point each-)
Oregon Home Inspection Training: Oregon Certification (ORS 701.) enacted in 1997. The Oregon Home Inspection Certification Law requires individuals who perform home inspections of two or more components to be certified by the Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB). An individual must meet minimum Training & /or experience requirements to take a comprehensive test, pass the test and complete continuing education courses to renew certification. The Oregon Standards of Practice, Standards of Behavior and Definitions are adopted from the ASHI Standards with Oregon amendments; Oregon acknowledges the assistance of ASHI in developing its standards and definitions. Each certified home inspector must be an owner or employee of a business licensed with the CCB. Businesses that perform home inspections must be licensed with the CCB in categories that require a $10,000 to $20,000 bond and $100,000 to $500,000 liability insurance policy.
The law does not apply to a person acting within the scope of an appraiser license or certification issued to the person by the Appraiser Certification and Licensure Board under ORS 674.
Application and Licensing: Oregon Construction Contractors Board