Nevada Home Inspection State Regulations

Regulating Body

Nevada Department of Business and Industry, Real Estate Division

Phone: (775) 687-4280; (702) 486-4033

Fax: (775) 687-4868

Email: realest@red.nv.gov

Address: 3300 W. Sahara Ave. Suite 350 Las Vegas, NV 89102

Quick Nevada Facts

  • Home inspection is regulated
  • Every two years license renewal cycle
    • Must complete 20 hours of continuing education every two (2) years, with three (3) hours of safety and three (3) hours of law approved by the Division
  • Distance education is not allowed
  • CE distance education is allowed
  • License type(s): residential inspector license


  • Field Training and Experience
    • Observation of 25 inspections performed by certified general inspector or an instructor approved by the commission.
    • Must also demonstrate ability to produce a complete and credible inspection report-must submit log of inspections observed.
  • CE
    • 20 CE hours
  • Pre-Licensing
    • 40 pre-licensing hours with proctored exam

Statute/Code: Nevada Revised Statutes 645D.240

Rule/Regulation: NAC 645D.250

Exam: National Home Inspector Examination

Application and Licensing: Nevada Department of Business and Industry, Real Estate Division

Nevada Home Inspection Training

Nevada Certification (NRS 645D.120 and NAC 645D.210) enacted in 1997. Nevada law provides for the certification of home inspectors of structures by the Real Estate Division of the Department of Business and Industry. An applicant for certification as a certified residential Inspector:

  1. Must furnish proof to the Division that he has successfully completed
    • Not less than 40 hours of academic Instruction In subjects related to structural Inspections In courses approved by the Division or equivalent experience as an Inspector, and
    • An examination approved by the Division, and
  2. Must possess a high school diploma or Its equivalent.

Experience as an Inspector must demonstrate ability of the applicant to produce a credible Inspection report according to the standards and requirements set in the statute and codes. Applicants must submit to the Division a log of Inspections performed for a fee on a form supplied by the Division. Applicants must submit proof that they have errors and omissions insurance of at least $100,000 and general liability insurance of at least $100,000. The law also provides that a purchaser may not recover damages from a seller on the basis of an error or omission in the disclosure form that was caused by the seller’s reliance upon informant ion provided to the seller by a certified inspector of real estate.


Quick Links

Scroll to Top