Regulating Body

Oregon Construction Contractors Board

Phone: (503) 378-4621

Fax: (503) 373-2007

Email: ccb.info@state.or.us​

Address: P.O. Box 14140 Salem, OR 97309-5052

Quick Oregon Facts

  • Home inspection is regulated
  • Biannual license renewal cycle
  • Distance education is not allowed
  • CE distance education is allowed
  • License type(s): home inspector


  • CE
    • 30 continuing education units
  • Pre-Licensing*
    • 20 hours of pre-licensing

Statute/Code: Statutes Title 52 ch. 701 § 445

Rule/Regulation: 812-008-0040 (e)

Exam: National Home Inspector Examination

Application and Licensing: Oregon Construction Contractors Board *Options for completing 20 education points for pre-licensing requirements:

  1. One (1) point for each completed three (30 hour minimum class with passing grade in construction, remodeling, engineering, architecture, building design, building technology or real estate at an accredited college or university
  2. Two (2) points for each completed 12 months working or teaching at an accredited college or university, trade school or private business for monetary compensation in construction, remodeling, engineering, architecture, building design, building technology or real estate
  3. Accredited US college course-class must be a minimum of 3-credit or three (3) CEU completed in home inspection (10 points for each 3-credit hour class)
  4. Approved provider course (one (1) point for each three (3) hour course)
  5. Ride along-applicant will accompany an Oregon certified home inspector during an inspection (one (1) point for each completed ride along)
  6. Full time work for monetary compensation as a home inspector (four (4) points for each 12 months)
  7. Recommendation from an Oregon certified home inspector (half point for each)
  8. Building codes certification issued by a government agency (one (1) point each)

Not Required

  • Field Training and Experience

Oregon Home Inspection Training

Oregon Certification (ORS 701.) enacted in 1997. The Oregon Home Inspection Certification Law requires individuals who perform home inspections of two or more components to be certified by the Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB). An individual must meet minimum Training & /or experience requirements to take a comprehensive test, pass the test and complete continuing education courses to renew certification. The Oregon Standards of Practice, Standards of Behavior and Definitions are adopted from the ASHI Standards with Oregon amendments; Oregon acknowledges the assistance of ASHI in developing its standards and definitions. Each certified home inspector must be an owner or employee of a business licensed with the CCB. Businesses that perform home inspections must be licensed with the CCB in categories that require  a $10,000 to $20,000 bond and $100,000 to $500,000 liability insurance policy. The law does not apply to a person acting within the scope of an appraiser license or certification issued to the person by the Appraiser Certification and Licensure Board under ORS 674.


Quick Links

Scroll to Top