Tennessee Home Inspection State Regulations

Regulating Body

Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance

Phone: 615 253-1296

Email: Home.Inspector.Licensing@TN.Gov

Address: Davy Crockett Tower, 500 James Robertson Pkwy. Nashville, TN 37243-1138

Quick Tennessee Facts

  • Home inspection is regulated
  • Bi-annual license renewal cycle
  • Distance education is allowed
  • CE distance education is allowed
  • License type(s): home inspector


  • CE
    • 32 hours every two (2) years
  • Pre-licensing
    • 90 pre-licensing hours

Statute/Code: Tennessee Code Title 62. ch. 6. Part 3 § 62-6-305

Rule/Regulation: 0780-5-12-.04 (2)(f)

Exam: National Home Inspector Examination

Application and Licensing: Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance

Not Required

  • Field Training and Experience

Tennessee Home Inspection Training

Tennessee Licensure (2005 Public Act Chapter 65 enacted in 2006). Any person who applies for licensure as a home inspector must submit an application on a form as prescribed by the commissioner. The application shall be accompanied by the fee specified in Section 4. Applicants shall furnish evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the applicant:

  1. Is at least 18 years old,
  2. Has graduated from high school or earned a general education development certificate,
  3. Has not been convicted of a crime that has a direct bearing on the applicant’s ability to perform competently and fully as a licensed inspector,
  4. Is not the subject of a disciplinary or enforcement action by another state or a local jurisdiction in connection with the performance of home inspections or the licensing or certification of home inspectors,
  5. Has successfully completed 90 hours of a commissioner-approved training program or course of study involving the performance of home inspections and the preparation of home inspection reports,
  6. Has passed a commissioner-approved competency examination administered by the state or an entity selected by the state, and
  7. Has obtained a certificate of insurance in an amount required by the commissioner for general liability as well as errors and omission to cover all activities contemplated under this chapter.

During the first 180 days after the effective date of this act (July 1, 2006), the commissioner may issue a license to an applicant who meets the requirements stipulated in the law if the applicant furnishes evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the applicant:

  1. Has been principally engaged in the performance of home inspections in this state for at least two years, and
  2. Has complete at least 150 home inspections for compensation in the applicant’s career.


Quick Links

Scroll to Top