Regulating Body

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

Phone: (410) 230-6165

Email: dloplrealestateappraiserlabor@maryland.gov

Address: 1100 N. Eutaw St. Room 121, Baltimore, MD 21201

Quick Maryland Facts

  • Home inspection is regulated
  • Every two years license renewal cycle
  • Distance education is not allowed
  • CE distance education
    • Up to 30% may be obtained online
  • License type(s): home inspector


  • CE
    • 30 CE hours
  • Pre-Licensing
    • 72 classroom hours

Statute/Code: Maryland Code Business Occupations and Professions § 16-3A-03 (1)

Rule/Regulation: Section 09.36

Exam: National Home Inspector Examination

Application and Licensing: Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

Not Required

  • Field training and experience

Maryland Home Inspection Training

Maryland law requires home inspectors to disclose professional qualifications and the scope of the inspection within the home inspection contract. The law also requires home inspectors to conduct home inspections in accordance with the standards of practice set forth by a professional home inspection trade association such as ASHI or the National Association of Home Inspectors. Maryland law creates the State Commission of Real Estate Appraisers and Home Inspectors to regulate home inspectors in the state. The Commission is charged with establishing a code of ethics and standards of practice for licensed home inspectors, and providing a copy of such standards to each licensed home inspector. To qualify for licensure prior to July 1, 2002, an applicant must complete two of the following conditions:

  1. Complete a minimum of 48 hours of an on-site training course approved by a national home inspection organization of the Commission,
  2. Complete a minimum of 2 years of relevant work experience as determined by the Commission,
  3. Complete at least 100 home inspections for compensation, or
  4. Submit proof of full membership in or certification by ASHI or NAHI.

Effective July 1, 2002, an applicant for a home inspector license shall:

  1. Have completed a minimum of 48 hours of an off-site training course,
  2. Have a high school diploma or its equivalent,
  3. Have general liability insurance in an amount not less than $50,000,
  4. Submit an application sanctioned by the Commission,
  5. Pay the application fee of $50 to the Commission.

The law also exempts certain professionals from licensure as a home inspector while acting under the scope of their licenses, and provides a reciprocity provision for licensed home inspectors from other states.


Quick Links

Scroll to Top